Wodonga Hockey Club

2022 ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

MINUTES



Venue:	Conference Room, Quest Apartments, Wodonga 46 Reid Street, Wodonga
Date:	Monday 5 th December 2022
Time:	6:30pm
Chaired By:	Kyle Brereton
Meeting Opened:	By Kyle Brereton @ 6.40pm

Apologies:

Denise Livingstone, Phil McQuilton, Anne Dunstan, Brian Sonter, Danielle Martin, Marg Darmody & John Luftensteiner

Present:

Vanessa Flanagan, Kyle Brereton, Michael Darmody, Ben Martin, Elaine Behrens, Yvonne Wolfe, Glenn Delaney, Kerry Devereaux, Marg Brown, Abbey Mitchell, Dawn George, Melissa Pontt, Craig Pontt, John Pimm, John Livingstone, Della Poppins, Mat Poppins, Liz Quinn, Danni McLeish, Adrian Grant

Minutes of Previous AGM: Tuesday 7th December 2021 were read by Vanessa Flanagan

Moved: John Pimm Seconded: Michael Darmody

Business Arising from 2021 Minutes. Nil

TREASURER'S REPORT - Including the Financial Statement prepared by Michael Darmody for the 12 months ended 31 October 2022

Tabled and read by Michael Darmody

Comments on the ups and downs of 2022 and we ended with a \$25k surplus.

Question: Affiliation – why did it drop? Michael replied because members pay their own HACT fee.

Moved to accept the Treasurer's Report: Yvonne Wolfe Seconded: Mat Poppins

Carried: By all

PRESIDENTS REPORT - signed copy to be kept with 2022 files.

Tabled and read by Kyle Brereton

Moved to accept the Presidents Report: Melissa Pontt Seconded: Michael Darmody Carried: By all Question: New club house opening: How are we doing the official opening? As a club how do we celebrate Kyle said that we need to work with the council & do something special – but as yet no firm plans in place.

REPORTS:

- Secretary commented on and tabled by V. Flanagan
- Come & Try NIL
- Under 10's tabled
- Umpire Development NIL.
- Border Indoor Hockey tabled.
- Communication (website, Facebook, Newsletters) tabled.

ELECTION OF OFFICE BEARERS: ALL POSITIONS DECLARED OPEN

- President Kyle Brereton
- Vice president Melissa Pontt
- Treasurer Abbey Mitchell
- Ass. Treasurer Michael Darmody
- Secretary Vanessa Flanagan
- General Committee Members: Kerry Devereaux, Liz Quinn John Pimm, Ben Martin, Danielle Martin, Dannielle McLeish, Adrian Grant

Tabled on the night nomination Adrian Grant to join the committee for 2023. Passed by: All.

Declared filled for 2023.

General Business:

Motion on the agenda:

Special Resolution 1:

Rejected and a motion to amendment the proposed resolution 1:

It is resolved that Wodonga Hockey Club Inc amend 27 (d) * In 2005 the Dave Chandler Memorial Cup was donated by the Poppins family. Each year, on a weekend either side of the 4th of July, Wodonga Hockey Club Division 1 Men play against their appointed opposition with the winning side being awarded the Dave Chandler Memorial Cup for that year. The winning club's name is engraved on the Cup, to; Each year, on a weekend close to the 4th of July, Wodonga Hockey Club Division 1 Men play against the **Magpies Hockey Club** with the winning side being awarded the **Chandler-Maggs Memorial Shield** for that year. The winning Club's name is engraved on the **Shield**. Changes to be reflected in the Club By-laws as set out in the document entitled "WHC By-laws 7/12/21" and in line with the WHC constitution.

Mew Motion Special Resolution 1

Moved:	John Pimm
2 nd :	Mat Poppins
Passed:	Carried by all Unanimously

Special Resolution 2:

Moved: Vanessa Flanagan

2nd: Kyle Brereton

Passed: Defeated

Question: Dawn George asked why a change is being made when a subcommittee was formed and made the decision to include a pin – how does the club show the value of a legend status

Defeated and a motion to amend the proposed resolution 2.

Wodonga Hockey Club Inc. amend rule 3 (C) (ii) b; a medal with the Club logo and Legend on the front, engraved with their name and year on the back; **to**; a pin with legend on it that is different to that of life members, furthermore the of c. **a framed certificate** for legend status with date and name along with club logo.

Changes to be reflected in the Club By-laws as set out in the document entitled "WHC Bylaws 7/12/21" and in line with the WHC constitution.

Moved:	Vanessa Flanagan
2 nd :	Melissa Pontt
Passed:	Carried by all Unanimously

Special Resolution 3:

Moved:	Kyle Brereton
2 nd :	Mat Poppins
Passed:	Carried by all Unanimously

Special Resolution 4:

Moved:Kyle Brereton2nd:Elaine BehrensPassed:Carried by all Unanimously

Next Meeting: 12th January 2023

Meeting Closed: 7.50pm 5/12/2022.

President: Kyle Brereton

Secretary: Vanesa Flanagan

Signature K. Brereton

Print Name: Kyle Brereton Date: 7 / 12 / 2022 Signature

Print Name Vanessa Flanagan Date: 7 / 12 / 2022

Minutes by: Vanessa Flanagan | Secretary

Comments from the floor:

- Kyle spoke about the new 'Snap Printing' 3-year sponsorship.
- JDK continued support.
- New Uniform walk out shirt.

Elaine asked, "can Life Members get a walk out shirt to support the club"?

Della Poppins took the opportunity to say 'thank you' to Kyle, Vanessa, and Michael for time and effort in getting the club house from concept to reality.